WFRS Functioning

The WFRS Executive Committee meets every six months to study current topics:
New national society candidates,
New associate member candidates,
Which society will organize the next convention,
The work of the permanent committees.

There are fifteen permanent committees. There are fourteen technical committees, and each focuses on a particular topic under the guidance of a chairman. There are also two decisional committees: The Executive Committee mentioned above, The Council, made up of the Executive Committee and the President of each national society. It meets during encounters or world conventions to vote on the proposals submitted by the technical committees.

The permanent committees:

Council: The President, Mr. Kelvin Trimper
Executive: The President, Mr. Kelvin Trimper
Awards: Mrs Monique de Clarens
Breeders' Club: Dr Gérald Meylan
Classification/Registration: Mr. Richard Walsh
Conservation/Heritage: Dr. Yuki Mikanagi
Convention Liaison: Mrs. Helga Brichet
Editor, The Rose Directory: Mrs Ethel Freeman
Editor, World Rose News: Mrs Sheenagh Harris
Honours: The President, Mr. Kelvin Trimper
International Rose Trials: Mr Markus Brunsing
Promotions: Mr. Steve Jones
Publications: Mrs. Jolene Adams
Shows: Mr. Luis Desamero
Webmaster: Mrs Ethel Freeman

World Conventions

A Fairytale Monarchy

”There lived once a great queen, in whose garden were found, at all seasons, the most splendid flowers, and from every land in the world. She specially loved roses, and therefore she possessed the most beautiful varieties of this flower, from the wild hedge-rose, with its apple-scented leaves, to the splendid Provence rose. They grew near the shelter of the walls, wound themselves round columns and window-frames, and crept along passages and over the ceilings of the halls. They were of every fragrance and colour.”

Thus begins Hans Christian Andersen’s fairytale ”The loveliest rose in the world”. The essence of the fairytale is The Rose as symbol of love.